

INTERNATIONAL RIGHT OF WAY ASSOCIATION

IRWA Meeting of the Members Minutes June 17, 2007 Sacramento, CA

Call to Order: President Jim Finnegan, SR/WA called the meeting to order at 2:20 pm

Quorum: Secretary/Treasurer Juan Zaragosa, SR/WA, confirmed that a quorum for the Meeting of the Members was present.

Minutes Approved: The minutes of the 2006 Meeting of the Members in Denver, CO were approved as previously posted. Randy A. Williams, SR/WA, made the motion to approve which was seconded by Carolyn D, Banks, SR/WA.

IEC, Region Chairs and Vice Chairs Introduced: A slide presentation introduced all the current members of the IEC as well as the region chairs and vice chairs.

Executive Vice President's Report: Executive Vice President Dennis Stork presented an update on the Association. Stork reported on the recent demographic and marketing research conducted by the Association as well as plans to expand survey and marketing in the future. Stork also explained the internal decision making process being used by the Association to assure more complete information and research prior to making a decision on a project. Noting his pending retirement, Stork also expressed his appreciation for the opportunity to serve as IRWA executive vice president.

Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs: President Elect Jim Struble, SR/WA, introduced the 2006-7 committee chairs and vice chairs.

President's State of the Profession Report: President Jim Finnegan, SR/WA, noted that the right of way profession was continuing to become more complex but that the complexity would provide greater opportunities for growth, if individuals embraced the need for lifelong learning and professional development. Finnegan outlined several major societal trends that auger will for public infrastructure and predicted that the next five to ten years would see explosive demand for right of way professionals but cautioned about the dwindling supply as retirement beckons the baby boomers.

Presentation of the Ron Jourdan SR/WA Advancement Award: President Finnegan presented the second Ron Jourdan SR/WA Advancement Award to David Layne, SR/WA. The Ronald Jourdan SR/WA Advancement Award is selected by the International Executive Committee periodically. The award will be bestowed upon an

IRWA member who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to advancing lifelong learning among right of way professionals through sharing expertise and knowledge about the right of way profession and allied disciplines, motivating and facilitating others to achieve the SR/WA designation and IRWA certificate programs.

Adjournment: Following a presentation of a gift of appreciation to Dennis Stork in anticipation of his retirement this fall by the IEC, the Meeting of the Members was adjourned at 3:35 pm.