Frank C Balfour Professional of the Year Award Archive

(6 years and older information) 

The Frank C. Balfour Professional of the Year Award, named after the Association's founder, honors professionals who have demonstrated exemplary support to the Association.

Nominated by IRWA's local chapters, candidates are submitted to the INEC for consideration and a maximum of six finalists are selected.

The INEC appoints the winner based on:

  • Outstanding contributions made through leadership positions in the chapter, regional and international levels
  • Fulfillment of educational courses and activities
  • Participation in Association regional and international activities
  • Achievement of IRWA professional designations




Past Balfour Award Recipients:

Year Name
1965 Sam Houston
1966 Max J. Derbes, Jr., SR/WA
1967 James W. Greathead, SR/WA
1968 Gene L. Land, SR/WA
1969 John V. Mulcahy, SR/WA
1970 Archie H. Christian
1971 Joseph E. Goodsell
1972 Wade S. Manning, SR/WA
1973 George E. Midgett, SR/WA
1974 Don Aircher, SR/WA
1975 Dean R. Little, SR/WA
1976 Keith L. Densley, SR/WA
1977 Thomas Kornelis
1978 Ronald C. Kester, SR/WA
1979 O. Dudley Kay, SR/WA
1980 Otis F. Koske, SR/WA
1981 Ronald L. Williams, SR/WA
1982 John D. Knecht, SR/WA
1983 John Berkowitz
1984 Truman L. Carlson, SR/WA
1985 Susan T. Maholland
1986 Timothy J. Smith, SR/WA
1987 Larry E. Griffin, SR/WA
1988 Alicia T. Worthley, SR/WA
1989 George F. Papacek, SR/WA
1990 David Layne, SR/WA
1991 Woodrow W. Pemberton, SR/WA
1992 Paul Burrow, SR/WA
1993 Sharon E. McLeod-Everette, SR/WA
1994 Paula S. Rueter, SR/WA
1995 Clyde B. Johnson, SR/WA
1996 Daniel S. Hushion, SR/WA
1997 Gordon E. MacNair, SR/WA
1998 Vickie Turpin, SR/WA
1999 Carol Croft, SR/WA
2000 Lo Ann Weight, SR/WA
2001 Kent Winslow, SR/WA
2002 Patricia Petitto, SR/WA
2003 Michael J. Pattison, SR/WA
2004 Karen M. Stein, SR/WA
2005 Lisa R. Harrison, SR/WA
2006 Lee Satterfield Hamre, SR/WA
2007 David Maturen, SR/WA
2008 Jeffrey Jones, SR/WA
2009 Donald Sherwood, SR/WA
2010 Tamara Benson, SR/WA
2011 Jerome Lund, SR/WA
2012 William Busch, SR/WA
2013 Janet Walker, SR/WA
2014 Cynde Barker, SR/WA
2015 Wayne Larsen, SR/WA
2016 Michael D. Murray, SR/WA
2017 Patricia F. Thayer, SR/WA
2018 Leslie D. Finnigan, SR/WA
2019 Fredrick L. Easton Jr., SR/WA, R/W-AMC
2020 Carol Bellinger, SR/WA, R/W-RAC
2021 Kristen Bennett, SR/WA, R/W-RAC
2022 Cyndi Whelpley, SR/WA

Balfour Award Eligibility

Nominees for the Frank C. Balfour Professional of the Year Award must be active members of the International Right of Way Association. To qualify as a candidate for the award, a nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the activities of the Association. Members of the International Executive Committee, Advisory Council, International Nominations and Elections Committee, and International Headquarters Staff are not eligible.

Instructions for Completing the Nomination Form for the Frank C. Balfour Award:

1. Chapter Presidents, Chapter Nominations & Awards Committee Chairs, or other designated or appointed Chapter representatives will complete the cover page of the Nomination Form, and ask the Nominee to review the form content for accuracy and completeness before signing.

2. Chapter Presidents or designees on behalf of the Chapter, will prepare a general letter relative to the nomination. If the Chapter President is also the nominee, another Chapter Officer will prepare the letter.

3. The Chapter President, Nominations & Awards Committee Chair, or other designated or appointed Chapter representative will forward eleven copies of the completed nomination packet, including the nomination letter and the executed copy of the Nomination Form to the INEC Chair, at the address published in Right of Way magazine awards article.

4. Activities of the consecutive five-year period ending December 31 of the preceding year are to be noted on Sections I through V of the nomination form. Activities prior to the five-year period are to be noted on Section VI. If it is necessary to use additional space for the data, attachment of additional pages is ok as long as the information is by Section Number to ensure proper credit.

  • The deadline for submission is on or before the first business day in February, verified by postage date, in which the Nominee is to be considered (i.e., the award is presented at the Annual International Education Seminar in June; many Chapters nominate their Professional of the Year from the immediately preceding year. The award presented in mid-2007 would be for the calendar year 2006). No nomination received after the deadline shall be considered by the INEC. 
  • All nominations received shall be evaluated and tabulated by each Regional Representative of the INEC. The totals are tabulated, and a maximum of six are identified as finalists, with the INEC Chair and Vice Chair doing the final tabulation at the spring INEC meeting.
  • The INEC shall report its findings, notify the finalists and announce the names of the award finalists to the International Executive Committee by the IEC's April meeting. The name of the award winner is not announced until the Annual Conference, but will be provided to the International Executive Vice President only for preparation of awards materials.
  • Finalists receive a letter of congratulations from the INEC Chair and an engraved plaque which is presented at the Annual International Education Awards Luncheon.
19210 South Vermont Avenue, Building A,Suite 100, Gardena, CA 90248 Telephone: (310) 538-0233 Fax: (310) 538-1471 Canadian Toll Free # 888-340-IRWA (4792)
© 2017 International Right of Way Association - All Rights Reserved