Frank C Balfour Professional of the Year Award

Named after the Association's founder, the Frank C. Balfour Professional of the Year Award honors professionals who have demonstrated exemplary support to the Association. Candidates are nominated by IRWA's local Chapters and members. Submissions are sent to the INEC for consideration and a maximum of six finalists are selected.

The INEC appoints the award recipient based on:

  • Outstanding contributions made through leadership positions in the Chapter, Region and International levels.
  • Fulfillment of educational courses and activities.
  • Participation in the Association's Region and International activities.
  • Achievement of IRWA's professional designations.

This year's recipient is:
Fredrick L. Easton Jr., SR/WA, R/W-AMC
Chapter 6/Region 9

Past Recipients:

Year Name
1965 Sam Houston
1966 Max J. Derbes, Jr., SR/WA
1967 James W. Greathead, SR/WA
1968 Gene L. Land, SR/WA
1969 John V. Mulcahy, SR/WA
1970 Archie H. Christian
1971 Joseph E. Goodsell
1972 Wade S. Manning, SR/WA
1973 George E. Midgett, SR/WA
1974 Don Aircher, SR/WA
1975 Dean R. Little, SR/WA
1976 Keith L. Densley, SR/WA
1977 Thomas Kornelis
1978 Ronald C. Kester, SR/WA
1979 O. Dudley Kay, SR/WA
1980 Otis F. Koske, SR/WA
1981 Ronald L. Williams, SR/WA
1982 John D. Knecht, SR/WA
1983 John Berkowitz
1984 Truman L. Carlson, SR/WA
1985 Susan T. Maholland
1986 Timothy J. Smith, SR/WA
1987 Larry E. Griffin, SR/WA
1988 Alicia T. Worthley, SR/WA
1989 George F. Papacek, SR/WA
1990 David Layne, SR/WA
1991 Woodrow W. Pemberton, SR/WA
1992 Paul Burrow, SR/WA
1993 Sharon E. McLeod-Everette, SR/WA
1994 Paula S. Rueter, SR/WA
1995 Clyde B. Johnson, SR/WA
1996 Daniel S. Hushion, SR/WA
1997 Gordon E. MacNair, SR/WA
1998 Vickie Turpin, SR/WA
1999 Carol Croft, SR/WA
2000 Lo Ann Weight, SR/WA
2001 Kent Winslow, SR/WA
2002 Patricia Petitto, SR/WA
2003 Michael J. Pattison, SR/WA
2004 Karen M. Stein, SR/WA
2005 Lisa R. Harrison, SR/WA
2006 Lee Satterfield Hamre, SR/WA
2007 David Maturen, SR/WA
2008 Jeffrey Jones, SR/WA
2009 Donald Sherwood, SR/WA
2010 Tamara Benson, SR/WA
2011 Jerome Lund, SR/WA
2012 William Busch, SR/WA
2013 Janet Walker, SR/WA
2014 Cynde Barker, SR/WA
2015 Wayne Larsen, SR/WA
2016 Michael D. Murray, SR/WA
2017 Patricia F. Thayer, SR/WA
2018 Leslie D. Finnigan, SR/WA
2019 Fredrick L. Easton Jr., SR/WA, R/W-AMC

Balfour Award Eligibility

Nominees for the Frank C. Balfour Professional of the Year Award must be active members of the IRWA. To quality as a candidate for the award, a nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the activities of the Association. Members of the International Executive Committee, Advisory Council, International Nominations and Elections Committee, and International Headquarters Staff are not eligible.

Instructions for Completing the Nomination Form for the Frank C. Balfour Award:

Please utilize the most recent edition of the Nomination form for the Frank C. Balfour Award, which is available here. Instructions are contained within the Nomination form template.

  • The deadline for submission is the first business day of February. All submissions will be verified by email receipt. Nominations received after the deadline shall not be considered.
  • All nominations shall be evaluated by each Regional Representative of the INEC. The totals will be tabulated and a maximum of six finalists will be selected. The INEC Chair and Vice Chair will conduct the final tabulation at the Spring INEC meeting.
  • The INEC shall report its findings, notify the finalists, and announce the names of the finalists to the International Executive Committee by the IEC's April Meeting. The name of the award recipient will not be announced until IRWA's Annual International Education Conference. (Note: The name of the recipient will be revealed to IRWA's CEO beforehand to prepare the award.)
  • Finalists will receive a letter of congratulations from the INEC Chair and an engraved plaque, which is presented at the Annual International Education Awards Luncheon.
19210 South Vermont Avenue, Building A,Suite 100, Gardena, CA 90248 Telephone: (310) 538-0233 Fax: (310) 538-1471 Canadian Toll Free # 888-340-IRWA (4792)
© 2017 International Right of Way Association - All Rights Reserved